THC2019 Award winners selected!

On the 10 September THC2019 Awards have been handed over at the Gala dinner of the  XVII Triple Helix Conference 2019 – a Catalyst for Change Conference! This year, award winners in the categories of  Best Poster Award 2019,  Best Paper Award 2018,  Early Career Researcher Best Paper Award 2019 and Catalyst for Change Award 2019 have been selected!

There were many great entries and it was hard for us to make a decision. We are delighted to announce however, that the winners of the following categories are:

(1) Best Paper Award 2018 acknowledges the most valuable paper published in the Triple Helix Journal in 2018. Presented by Prof. Henry Etzkowitz, the  Editorial Board member of the THJ have chosen the article ’Building builders: entrepreneurship education from an ecosystem perspective at MIT’ written by Artur Tavars Vilas Boas and Juliana Natsumi Ueci.

(2) Best Poster Award 2019 recognizes researchers, students or practitioners able to show with clear and concise posters, the results of application and implementation of the Triple Helix model for innovation. The Award Committee composed by Prof. Emanuela Todeva Vice President of the Triple Helix Association (THA), UK , Prof. Mariza Almeida Vice President of the Triple Helix Association (THA), Brazil, Prof. Mammo Muchie, Tshwane University of Technology, SA, has selected to the poster ’Harnessing the Demographic Dividend for Enhanced Food Security and Disaster Risk Reduction’ written by Felix Kwabena DONKOR, Mearns KEVIN, Enokenwa Ojong BAA, Henry Bikwibili TANTOH, Eromose EBHUOMA, Hadisu ABUBAKAR, Sibusisiwe MAVUSO, Philip MBEWE, Christopher MABEZA, Arianne LECLER.

(3) Early Career Researcher Best Paper Award 2019 to a full-time doctoral students or researchers who completed their PhD after September 2016,  recognizing the conceptual and methodological quality of their research papers, their originality and implications/applications for the Triple Helix models, concepts and approaches. Selected by Prof. Panos Ketikids  (Coordinator) – Chair of the Meeting Prize and Award committee of the Triple Helix Association (THA), GR, Prof. Mariza Almeida, Vice President of the Triple Helix Association (THA), Brazil, Michael Kahn  Stellenbosh University, SA and Erika Kraemer-Mbula University of Johannesburg, SA, has been awarded to the article ’Determinants of Sustainable Competitiveness in Africa: Analysis with the Open Quintuple Helix Model’ by B. G. C. AHODODE and H. NGOA TABI.

(4) Catalyst for Change Award 2019 recognizes researcher or practioner who has undertaken research or work in Africa. The award committee has chosen the Xoliswa Magawana, Ph.D intern of the Centre for Science, Technology and Innovation indicators who with the support of the project leader Dr. Il-haam Peterson prepared a poster presentation for the conference.

We hereby congratulate to all the winners for their great work done and wish them good luck for the future! At the end of the award ceremony, Prof. Henry Etzkowitz have thanked to the host organizers, Dr. Audrey Verhaeghe and her wonderful team for the fantastic work done!